RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

78 Users Online (32 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 28, 2007 at 2:53:12 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#1

blweisensel


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 7, 2006
37 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to get some of my CAD linetypes into REVIT.  Is this possible?  What we did was set up a mock drawing in CAD of what we wanted our sheet to look like in REVIT.  We used hatches and linetypes to convey certain notes in a legend.  We put in a linetype of Zigzag that I want to put into REVIT so the REVIT sheet looks as close to the CAD sheet as possible.  Also, we made a dashed line in CAD and made the global width 5" so the line was thicker, I would like to get this linetype into REVIT as well.

Any ideas.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 28, 2007 at 4:18:44 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#2

ebtaylor


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 22, 2006
83 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Not sure if this will help but if you have your cad file either imported or linked to your Revit file you can go to Settings pull down , then Line Styles. Select under Line Patterns and you will get a pull down arrow where you can select different line styles. I've noticed that my cad dwgs show linestyles as Imported. I've tried using custom line styles from cad but if they have letters in the cad linestyle they will not work in Revt.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 10:32:04 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#3

teflamreilavehc


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 8, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to do a similar thing, but my imported CAD line styles are showing up in revit as style-less straight lines. That is to say that lines with an imported cad style show up with no style at all. Did you have this problem and fix it, or is there something I'm doing wrong from the get go?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:02:24 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


If you bring a cad file in and explode it, you will get the line styles .... along with every hatch pattern .... linetype etc.  This is why you are very careful with exploding CAD drawings.  Clean them up first and import into a junk REVIT file first if need be to do final cleanup.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:53:18 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#5

teflamreilavehc


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 8, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


I just tried exploding them, and still nothing - no styles. For what it's worth, there are versions of each line style loaded in as IMPORT - PHANTOMX2 or whatnot, but those styles still show up as plain lines.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 11:53:50 PM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#6

teflamreilavehc


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 8, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


I just tried exploding them, and still nothing - no styles. For what it's worth, there are versions of each line style loaded in as IMPORT - PHANTOMX2 or whatnot, but those styles still show up as plain lines.

 *edit*

Consequently, if I try to do the opposite (export to AutoCAD) I lose the Revit line types in the process.



Edited on: Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:58:37 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:11:10 AM | Getting CAD Linetypes into REVIT

#7

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey, first of all you cant have text in Revit linetypes. Only dashes, spaces, and dots. You can create a detail component linetype with can have text and stuff, but it isn't really a linetype, its a "fake one". Here is one I created, have a play with it and see how it goes. Here are the autocad hatch patterns as well. Im using RAC2009

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Complex Linetypes in Revit?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 2, 2012 at 6:51:38 PM

6

imported dwg lineweights, linetypes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 10, 2007 at 2:22:53 PM

1

Exporting to CAD options?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 29, 2011 at 2:17:16 AM

2

Linetypes and Phases

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 1, 2005 at 11:29:34 PM

4

Custom Linetypes

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Nov 7, 2007 at 11:53:17 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

556890

Objects:

15515

Forum Posts:

131684

Job Listings:

3

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9352

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights