RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

142 Users Online (70 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 497 - Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 4:58:46 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Fri, Jan 19, 2007 at 7:09:49 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#1

jessephillips


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 8, 2006
23 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


When adding SIM or TYP to the detail view callouts, the entire set of callouts changes to SIM or TYP. Then, I duplicate the callout, rename it and change it's properties.  When i try to use the duplicated version of the callout, nothing happens...the callout stays the same.  AM I MISSING SOMETHING? IS THERE A SECRET TO CREATING DIFFERENT CALLOUTS? 

 

ANY HELP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED.  THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME AND CONSIDERATION.  HAPPY NEW YEAR! 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 20, 2007 at 3:45:21 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You are doing it correctly as far as I can tell by your description.  I have had problems with the display of the detail view callouts before though.  Sometimes it is a simple matter of setting them up in the project then closing out of the project and re-opening it to get them to 'take'.

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 10, 2007 at 9:18:09 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#3

JDahl


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 24, 2006
46 Posts
No Rating


I cant figure out anything different either... Just  a glitch as far as I can tell, I have just taken that out and simply added "TYP." or "SIM." with normal text afterwards where ever needed.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 27, 2007 at 6:01:06 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#4

twhisker


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
110 Posts
1 Stars: 3 Votes


2008  You are right, you cannot add a TYP/SIM parameter to a system family (huge wishlist item that needs to be addressed).  But Revit has a built-in functionality to address TYP & SIM section/detail/elevation/callouts.

Look at the element properties for the System Family: Section.  The Type parameters has one called "Reference Label" It is populated with "TYP." as a default.

When you create another section, on the Options Bar, select Reference other view, and select a section, callout of a section, or drafting view name from the drop-down menu next to it.

It will then place the reference label to the upper right of the section bubble and will fill it in with the view # & sheet in which the refering view is placed.

You may create another section family which I call Building Section SIM - here I change the parameter from TYP to SIM. As long as you tell it that it is a reference of another view, it will link to that view AND label it TYP/SIM.  HTH


-----------------------------------
Revit Architecture 2010

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 at 5:22:03 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#5

cmcc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Any updates with 2011 or ideas of how to make this an instance parameter in the familly?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 at 5:59:11 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 228 Votes


No need - it works as is.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 at 7:02:30 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#7

cmcc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


I guess I'm not understanding - I'm trying to do the same thing - with callout bubbles.   I created a "_sim" family with the "SIM" label, but I do not know how to make this an option.  I've tried going into Manage/Additional/Settings/Callout Tags but it seems here I can only choose one family for the whole project.  What am I missing?  (I'm in Revit Structure - but this should be similar to Revit Arch....)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 1:28:58 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 228 Votes


If you had searched your help using SIM - you would find this topic:  Changing the Reference Label  that explains it.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 26, 2011 at 12:54:54 AM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#9

berly


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 23, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


It doesn't work well as is -- the SIM/TYP should be an instance parameter, because once you change the callout tag type to use the appropriate reference label type parameter, it changes all referencing views of that detail to be that type of callout. Thus, if you have a case where the detail is TYP, and somewhere else where the detail is not the exactly the same but SIM, you can not label it as both due to inherent Revit functionality -- it will change all callout references of that view to the last callout tag type you used when referencing the view. Annoying. We're going to dumb text as well.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2011 at 3:47:15 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#10

Cmadden1


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


having same problem berly is seeing -  so what's the Revit 2011/2012 solution?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2011 at 5:33:55 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 228 Votes


I don't understand peoples problems with this because ours works.  We have a type set up for SIM where if you use a drafting detail or refer to another detail, the SIM will show. If the view is the original, there is no SIM.

 

So what exactly is your problem?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2011 at 8:04:05 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#12

Cmadden1


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Well I contacted D/C/Cadd, and they advised that this is a limitation for Revit.

"This is a long-standing issue with Revit - The Reference label is a type-based property that comes into play when a callout is created that references an existing view and will affect all callout tags of that type that reference an existing view (callouts that were not used to create the initial view). In the case of a section or elevation, since the resulting callout would be section or elevation, a different section/elevation view type can be created for each specific callout tag with a different reference label. Unfortunately, however, there is no way to create a floorplan view type beyond the single type that is available. The only workaround is to not use the reference label and replace it with static text."

If you do know of a way that I can change the label for callout bubbles to use Sim, OH, Typ, etc., please advise.  Solutions listed earlier in the thread have already been tried.  Thanks.




This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2011 at 8:17:20 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 228 Votes


Still not clear.  Is it that you want to be able to switch between SIM and TYP, because using one or the other works?

 

If that is the case, then create a new callout head that actually has TYP as text in it ... and the SIM will still work as it does.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 11:21:23 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#14

terealva


active

Joined: Wed, May 16, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


Does this work on detail bugs or just callout bugs? I was able to make it work for callout bugs but not detail bugs.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 11:43:17 PM | Adding SIM / TYP to Detail View Callouts

#15

terealva


active

Joined: Wed, May 16, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


Nevermind, I figured it out.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

SIM OPP TYP

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 18, 2005 at 3:41:00 AM

0

Callouts and Callout Sim Views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 12, 2013 at 3:41:57 PM

1

callouts and detail views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 8:45:53 PM

2

callouts with "typ" label?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 6:44:41 PM

5

multiple section callouts

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 2:04:18 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

571507

Objects:

15578

Forum Posts:

132441

Job Listings:

4

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5224

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights