RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

160 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 497 - Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 4:58:46 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 2, 2006 at 6:52:51 PM | NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#1

SusanSorger


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


I'm hoping to get some input from the Revit Community. My company, Entourage Arts, creates and sells watercolour entourage elements that have been alpha masked for use in digital Archtectural Renderings. We currently offer our volumes in PNG (Hi Res) format, SketchUp "Face-me" skp (Low-Med Res) Format and we are just introducing a VectorWorks Format. I don't know anything about Revit at all, but I would like to know if any of the formats that I provide can be used "as is" in Revit. That is will an alpha Masked PNG cast shadows or does one need to do something further in Revit. I believe the latest version of Revit reads SKP files and those are acutally outlined as a flat form in order to cast shadows. Could you let me know what would be needed to make these most easily usable in Revit.

-----------------------------------

Susan Sorger Entourage Arts

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 2, 2006 at 6:53:49 PM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#2

SusanSorger


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Here is the SKP version of the same file. Sorry this is the SKB and I am unable to remove it. Next post has the corrected file. Apologies. Post edited on 2006-10-02 13:57:28

-----------------------------------

Susan Sorger Entourage Arts

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 2, 2006 at 6:58:04 PM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#3

SusanSorger


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


correct skp

-----------------------------------

Susan Sorger Entourage Arts

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 1:30:09 AM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi Susan, With the SKP file (see attached) you don't get the actual image showing up so you only see the silhoutte of the person, which is rather difficult to make out as a person. Would be alright for schematics. Also the scale of the file? What is it? I tried importing in as millimeter which made it a scale of 0.08333 which i had to scale up to 24.0 before it was human scale. The PNG alpha's work great for elevations, their only issue is in revit you can set an image as a foreground of background. So you can't set it in front of some elements but behind others... PNG files also can't cast shadows in revit. Probably the best solution would be to combine the skp and png file to create RPC families in revit. That way the skp file could be set to show in shaded views and the png file to show in rendered views, which will cast shadows. I hope this is helpful.

Attached Images

SketchUp import.jpg

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 1:31:12 AM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Here is a screenshot of the elevation.

Attached Images

PNG 2D.jpg

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 2:24:46 AM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#6

SusanSorger


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Hmm. The SketchUp file does have the image attached to it. So either Revit isn't importing it correctly or there is some setting issue. It is a SketchUp component and the size is set at about 6 feet. So again, there has to be some sort of setting issue. In SketchUp the component texture has to be low res because too many hi res textures would choke SketchUp. However,if a final view is selected with no expected rotation and a nice rendering required, it is easy, in SketchUp to reload the applied texture and apply the high res PNG version instead. But if you cannot import a SketchUp Component or Model with the textures attached in Revit, that doesn't do much good. Does Revit handle only RPC"s properly? I guess there is no MAC version of Revit then. Is there no Revit native format to convert to that would work properly? Thanks Chris for your help.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 2:36:11 AM | RE:

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hmm. The SketchUp file does have the image attached to it. So either Revit isn't importing it correctly or there is some setting issue. It is a SketchUp component and the size is set at about 6 feet. So again, there has to be some sort of setting issue. In SketchUp the component texture has to be low res because too many hi res textures would choke SketchUp. However,if a final view is selected with no expected rotation and a nice rendering required, it is easy, in SketchUp to reload the applied texture and apply the high res PNG version instead. But if you cannot import a SketchUp Component or Model with the textures attached in Revit, that doesn't do much good. Does Revit handle only RPC"s properly? I guess there is no MAC version of Revit then. Is there no Revit native format to convert to that would work properly?

Thanks Chris for your help.

I'm sure it does has the image attached to it. What i meant was Revit can't take advantage of it in this manner. Revit cannot apply textures in a view without doing a rendering of the view. Revit's shaded views are limited to surface patterns and colours, to show textures you must render which takes a significant time.

If you want the image to show correctly when rendered then yes it does have to be an rpc. No there isn't a Mac version of revit.

The Revit native version would be a RFA file.

This RFA would contain the simple flat extrusion of the entourage element (in order to cast shadows in shaded and hidden line views). You could also add some 3d linework on the surface of this extrusion to further define what the form is. Entourage "families" (these are what the native format for content in revit are named) can then have settings to render using an external RPC file. RPC files can be created using free software as 'Mr GG' once showed.

I think you could use the PNG file to create the RPC file given that it has transparency abilities.

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 2:41:51 AM | RE: NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#8

SusanSorger


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 2, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Thanks very much Chris, now I just have to check the licensing to see if I am allowed to sell any images created using RPC conversion software. It is really a litte frustrating that images/textures don't show in Revit unless one has this "rendered" view. Bummer. Just checked. Not a solution. RPC creator does not allow any sort of distribution of RPC content created using the software. There has to be some other format that is good for Revit. Don't you folks make any use of RealWorld Imagery content at all? Post edited on 2006-10-02 21:47:44

-----------------------------------

Susan Sorger Entourage Arts

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 2, 2014 at 8:55:11 PM | NPR Entourage Convert to Revit

#9

jabuchenauer


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 4, 2012
6 Posts
No Rating


If I was you, Susan, I would look into using Adobe Illustrator to Live-trace you png's to get a better outline of the person in the picture. Then I would look into getting that into autocad/sketchup/revit somehow.  The key is finding a fast and automated workflow that traces and trims up the png outlines in a VECTOR format, and then getting that vector outline into revit.  That's probably the biggest hurdle (in my opinion).


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 3D entourage

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 31, 2008 at 6:34:31 PM

2

View Oriented Entourage Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2014 at 3:39:59 PM

0

CONVERT RHINO TO REVIT

Community >> The Studio

Mon, May 30, 2011 at 5:31:59 PM

6

Entourage folder is missing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 13, 2011 at 10:05:47 PM

3

convert revit 7 in revit 6.1

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Jun 15, 2005 at 2:49:02 PM

10

Site Stats

Members:

573403

Objects:

15583

Forum Posts:

132495

Job Listings:

4

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0860

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights