RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

157 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 9, 2013 at 5:00:41 PM | Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

#1

leothelionator


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2010
103 Posts
No Rating


I noticed something peculiar about importing CAD drawings.  It doesn't appear that you can select what CAD paper space view or model space view to import from, so I thought it would default to model space every time I bring it into Revit.  However, depending on the desired Revit plan view, the imported CAD file's default view will be different.  Some Revit views only import paper space, while other views only import paper space.  What controls this or is it completely random?  Is it based off of associated levels, view ranges, crop boundaries, or something?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 9, 2013 at 7:09:58 PM | Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 222 Votes


Never just import a CAD drawing!  You should always clean them up first  (especially if exploded which has more issuses) and only include what you need and set your origin somewhere near your objects.  If you don't follow this advice there will be some real consequences down the road for you.

 

So if you do the above, you should only have one model space view.

 

Linked CAD is different and you do not have to clean it up.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 9, 2013 at 7:20:41 PM | Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

#3

leothelionator


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2010
103 Posts
No Rating


I had tried cleaning it up as much as possible before importing it, but was only able to delete all but 1 model space view and 1 paper space view.  This may be due to using Microstation to edit the CAD file instead of AutoCAD (I come from an odd Microstation background).  I'll try stumbling through Autocad to remove the undesired paper space view if possible.

Unfortunately, this still does not solve the problem with linked files since there is no way to control which of the views will come into the Revit model.  I still get model view or paper space view as a hit-or-miss depending on the destination Revit view.  If I delete the paper space views from the linked model, then I would have to re-do it every time the consultant provides updated backgrounds.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 9, 2013 at 8:49:23 PM | Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 222 Votes


Revit is a 3D program and basically it imports the model view always no matter what is in paper space.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 12:30:07 PM | Importing Paper Space/Model Space from CAD File

#5

bfisslee


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 3, 2010
0 Posts
No Rating


/\ not true.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 12:32:05 PM | bfisslee

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 31 Votes


Quoting bfisslee from 2014-04-11 07:30:07

"

/\ not true.

"

This post is not helpful.. what is not true? Explain please.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Importing .dwg Details - Model Space vs. Paper Space

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 9, 2006 at 10:37:45 PM

1

Revit 2012 Sheets & Model Space / Paper space in CAD

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 11:36:59 AM

3

CAD files importing with huge blank space [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 4:43:39 AM

16

Inner space is not surrounded by outer space with higher height.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 1:34:57 PM

2

Titleblock scaling in model space (AutoCAD)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 4:44:00 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

545658

Objects:

15429

Forum Posts:

131111

Job Listings:

2

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6614

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights