RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

146 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 3:56:55 PM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#1

ossosso


active

Joined: Fri, May 23, 2008
18 Posts
No Rating


Hi!I'm trying to import a 3d model of a chair inside Revit Architecture 2012. I've made a test with a simple sphere object, created it in 3dsmax and then exported in AutoCAD DWG 2010 format. Once in Revit all works correctly. Then I try with the chair using the same 3dsmax scene, deleted the sphere and merged the chair, the only difference is that the chair has more polygons. I receive this error message once imported:"The import geometry will not be visible in the view using the current settings.The Origin of the import will be centered on the origin of the model instead. You can view the import in any view where its geometry is within the extents."I've red other posts with the same error message but I haven't solved.. the model is about 30000 polygons.. does Revit has a limit? In this case how can I solve?Thanks a lot!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 8, 2012 at 4:11:10 PM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#2

bradley911


active
bradley911 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 12, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 15 Votes


The object is larger then the current view window.  expand to fit and you'll see your file, or switch to an elevation, It may be to high from your work plane and need to be brought down to the zero elevation.  This happens some times depending on the settings you used in autocad.  If its a size issue you may have to scale the model to the size you want once you bring it into Revit unless it was build in autocad to the desired sizes.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 6:47:38 AM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#3

ossosso


active

Joined: Fri, May 23, 2008
18 Posts
No Rating


Thank for answering, but it isn't a scale problem.

As I said, I've tested using a simple sphere geometry with the same height, lenght and width of the chair model, before I'veexported the sphere and then the chair, but dimension was the same; the sphere is over there correctly, the chair no.

Even if I do "Zoom Extend" it doesn't work: not visible yet the chair...


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 8:32:08 AM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#4

ossosso


active

Joined: Fri, May 23, 2008
18 Posts
No Rating


I'm understanding a bit: the message appears and I can't see the geometry only when the geometry exported has faces which intersect each other... I can't correct that, 'cause the model must be done in that way.. how can I solve?

 

Thank you!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 1:15:26 PM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#5

bradley911


active
bradley911 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 12, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 15 Votes


You likely need to explode the chair in AutoCAD just to the point it is in individual 3dfaces/regions this will allow you to place the individual peaces parts onto individual layers that you can control in Revit.  I have noticed that if all your surfaces aren't converted to regions or 3dfaces in AutoCAD you end up with rendering issues of the surface.  This may help, but not sure if it will correct the problem of the chair not appearing in Revit itself.  When you do your import try the "Preserve" colors settings, that may help.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 11:39:39 PM | Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

#6

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


when importing you must specify where you want the object to end up. Note positioning, make sure you are in plan view, at the correct level, and I almost always use Manual Origin. I placed this wine cabinet in plan and then switched to 3D view.



Attached Images

112057_importCadObjects.png112057_importwinecabinet.png

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Import full Civil 3D 2012 model in Revit Architecture 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 26, 2012 at 12:23:35 PM

5

Using 3D Studio Objects in Revit Architecture 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 20, 2011 at 5:09:53 AM

0

import revit model to 3ds 7

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 29, 2008 at 4:34:17 PM

3

Import DWG problem with size

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 at 1:33:32 AM

2

Revit 2012 Titleblock Family Import Cad geometry not visible

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 15, 2011 at 6:51:43 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

546159

Objects:

15433

Forum Posts:

131155

Job Listings:

2

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5485

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights