RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

184 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 25, 2012 at 9:49:35 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#1

ArianaVieira


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 11, 2011
7 Posts
No Rating


I imported an elevator from RevitCity, when I first inserted it into the floor plan everything was perfect. After I went on to do my second floor, I looked back to see they were gone. But I can go and highlight them as if they are there. Clipping is set correctly, the base level is correct and all the properties I have checked seem right. It only shows up on plan view when i place it outside the building. Where am I going wrong?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 25, 2012 at 9:51:02 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#2

ArianaVieira


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 11, 2011
7 Posts
No Rating


Also, if I place them on the second floor it WILL show up. I don't get it!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 26, 2012 at 3:32:57 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#3

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


check your VG, see if you have it turned on properly.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 26, 2012 at 10:40:51 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


The other possibility is... you never quite know what you get when you download a family. 

 

What COULD be happening is that the model elements of the family have been rendered invisible, and are instead represented with less compicated symbolic linework. 

 

The same technique, say, that displays door swings in plan, despite the door being closed.  Or a bathtub as an oval within a rectangle, instead of the insane triangulation lines of the curves. 

 

Long story short, your elevator might only appear as 2-D lines in plan, and those lines would be at 0'-0".  If you have any fillded regions, or anything else that might occlude linework that's flat on the level, it might be an answer.  turn your model to wireframe to check.  It might also be a view depth issue, if you have your cut plane above the floor.

 

And finally, perhaps a VG issue.  But if it looks fine in the same view when placed outside the building... probably not vg. 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 29, 2012 at 10:17:04 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#5

ArianaVieira


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 11, 2011
7 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your help, I still havent quite figured it out, but what I have done is changed the elevation and i have  it set at 8" offset and that seems to activate parts of it as if it is cut off.. which also makes it show up in a Camera view but it's obviously unacceptable. Very odd that this is happening on just the first floor because I can get it to work perfectly on the second and third. VG seems correct, everything is checked... is there more I need to look into for the VG?

Thanks again


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 30, 2012 at 5:49:26 PM | Imported Component won't show up in plan view.

#6

MeeraMeera


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 17, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


I have the exact same problem...

and its not VG , its just weird... it doesnt even show up in wifreframe on first floor but it shows up in all my other floors?!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Section won't show in both plan and building section

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 29, 2014 at 12:52:25 PM

1

component above view range not showing up in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 30, 2008 at 9:27:11 PM

5

Model-In-Place Component adhering to plan's view range.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 12, 2010 at 5:18:43 PM

1

View Title scale text won't show

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 29, 2009 at 8:36:51 PM

2

Revit component wont show up in plan view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 15, 2012 at 7:55:51 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

496867

Objects:

14962

Forum Posts:

127370

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8536

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights