RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

190 Users Online (77 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Gap in Roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 5:06:28 AM | Gap in Roof

#1

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi all, I have attached an image showing an area within a section I have created. This section view has been set to 'fine' so that i can show the structure of the roof when on section. You will notice a small gap in the roof on the left. Why is this gap here? There are no openings, components or anything else that exists on this roof. Is a simply straight forward roof. This 'gap' occurs in other sections as well. How do I fix this? cadjockey

Attached Images

Gap in roof.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 6:52:07 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 84 Votes


Strange. Check your object styles for roofs to make sure the linetype being used is set to solid. Also check there isn't a filled region in the view...

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 8:07:00 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#3

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi Mr Spot, The object style line type is solid. There are no filled regions. What else can I do? cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 9:33:28 PM | RE: Gap in Roof

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 84 Votes


Does it still appear this way with invert background turned off?

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 3:16:30 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#5

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi Mr Spot, Yes it does. There doesn't seem to be any pattern or consistency to where it occurs either. I have checked that my roof footprints are correct. I can't see any problems there. It seems a shame to have a nice section spoiled by these gaps. What else is there i can do? cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 3:20:12 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#6

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Mr Spot, I found the problem. It was a minute adjustment in on offset setting I had one of the roof footprints. I'll take a look why I needed to do this given the roof sits on the same wall plate level and as other parts of the building which do not need to be adjusted. Thanks for the help. cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 3:35:16 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#7

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


I spoke to soon. In one area it occurs just either side of the roof ridge. The gap is a dead zone. I cannot select the roof if I try to hightlight the roof by dragging my mouse in the gap area. If I adjust the offset from the level the roof is based on it disappears. I know I have not created any void sweeps or the like in the area. I lost for solutions. cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 3:54:44 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#8

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


One thing I have noticed. The gap occurs when I join the tow roof types together. See the before and after images I have attached. However, this phenomenon does not occur in every other instance. cadjockey

Attached Images

Before After.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 4:19:08 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#9

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


OK this is the latest. I have noticed that depending on the order in which I join the two roof parts together determines whether the gap appears or not. Don't ask me why. It seems to work. cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 6:33:08 AM | RE: Gap in Roof

#10

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 84 Votes


I'd send in a support request to Autodesk if i were you... Looks a little buggish...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

CREATING A GAP BETWEEN ELEVATION TAG AND WALL

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 22, 2009 at 6:40:39 PM

0

Leader-text gap

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 4:01:45 PM

10

Revit 2011-Why is this happening-Gap in between walls??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 7:19:03 PM

4

Gap in stair

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 16, 2013 at 12:10:22 PM

2

Leader and Keynote gap

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 3, 2008 at 4:18:07 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

500093

Objects:

14996

Forum Posts:

127539

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2265

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights