RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

123 Users Online (69 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Gable End Rake Detail

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 5, 2010 at 11:53:27 PM | Gable End Rake Detail

#1

newengarch


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 29, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Has anyone mastered the process of creating accurate extended rakes that are correctly depicted in Roof Plan & Elevation? I ask this because when we create a roof in Revit if we extend it beyond the gable wall  it's actual structural Depth is shown in Elevation, which in most cases is not what we want. The nicely detailed rake trim in most cases would not be a 2X10 rafter depth, if that happens to be the make-up of your roof. If we create a roof and do not extend it beyond the gable wall it still shows up in elevation with its structural depth appearing. Do we hold the roof back to outside face of stud then cut profile the wall and then sweep a rake profile along the slope. Doing that results in a portion of roof (in Plan) not being depicted. I am finding it very difficult to interface Rake (extended or not) with Soffit, Gutter & Fascia using Revit. I'm at this point assuming a lot of these issues have to be resolve in the 2d detailng?

Any pointers would be appreciated!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 9:38:41 PM | Gable End Rake Detail

#2

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


No 2D. You have a few ways to do this.

1. Model the roof as only the shingles and sheathing. I model the structure using actual 2x_ material so if the 2x10 don't go out side the gable wall I don't draw them. This way you can add the fascia or detail using a profile.

 

2. Model the roof as a full thickness. ( sounds like what you are doing ) Create an in-place family as a roof and select void extrusion. Draw an area to be removed from the roof. You can then add a fascia or detail again using a profile.

 

Good luck.. 


-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 9:54:55 PM | Gable End Rake Detail

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


3RD WAY...

Create your main roof to the face ofwall and a second roor for the outlooks... then join geometry.  As long as your shingles are a layer.... Easier than the void.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 at 4:34:59 PM | Gable End Rake Detail

#4

newengarch


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 29, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for taking the time to response. Much appreciated. Can't wait to try your suggestions out.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

gable returns

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jul 16, 2010 at 3:37:11 AM

2

Gable end of Roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 9, 2006 at 10:31:52 PM

2

soffits on gable ends

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 15, 2008 at 9:50:24 PM

6

Gable End Fascia

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 23, 2007 at 10:45:50 AM

3

Roof fascia return

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 5:05:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

557092

Objects:

15517

Forum Posts:

131684

Job Listings:

3

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2122

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights