RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

362 Users Online (221 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> How to make a roof consisting of rafters and trusses?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jan 31, 2010 at 4:01:51 PM | How to make a roof consisting of rafters and trusses?

#1

Arch145763


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 2, 2009
19 Posts
No Rating


I am having issues creating a roof with trusses and rafters. It is a simple building shape (rectangular) so I just want one uniform roof surface with no needs for crickets or anything like that. The purpose for this is to have a cathedral ceiling in the half of the building for public use and have a flat ceiling over the offices on the other side of the building.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 31, 2010 at 5:38:29 PM | How to make a roof consisting of rafters and trusses?

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 12 Votes


There are trusses in the standard Revit library (truss members under structural framing).  If you would like rafters over the open section (not trusses), you can use a beam system and have a structural ridge at the top.  Check the 3d button in hte beam system so that it slopes.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 11:36:33 AM | How to make a roof consisting of rafters and trusses?

#3

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Arch ,

if you want the roof planes the same( top of top chord same plane as top of rafters) assuming spacings are the same and purlin size is the same.

1) check : rafter depth compared to truss top chord depth , allow for the slope.

2)check pitching point of truss(outside of core wall) versus rafter pitching point (birdsmouth offset). revit seems to show the raftered roof pitched off inside face of core, but depending on roof pitch and building codes, max birdsmouth is depth/4 here in oz anyway. 

use the align tool to line up the roof planes.

cheers, mansell5

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 4:46:27 PM | How to make a roof consisting of rafters and trusses?

#4

jterrell


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 9, 2006
118 Posts
3 Stars: 5 Votes


Just had a project similar to this. Trusses had 2x4 top chords, but rafters were 2x10's. You either have to use a large fascia or trimming the rafter tails to match the truss ends.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof Trusses

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Apr 12, 2008 at 3:19:15 AM

4

Roof Rafters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 8, 2008 at 7:41:45 PM

4

drawing angled roof rafters

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 4:53:17 PM

9

recommended way of modeling wood-framed roof?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 5, 2012 at 9:34:01 PM

4

Custom rafters/roofing Revit 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 1:31:55 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

497227

Objects:

14964

Forum Posts:

127405

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5660

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights