RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

330 Users Online (176 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jan 24, 2010 at 7:52:00 PM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#1

Veracious


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Hello all,I'm still quite new to Revit, so I wanted a good exercise for meself

so I could use the program more effectively.

(I have already had some experience with AutoCAD, hopefully this helps!)

I am in possession of AutoDesk Revit Architecture 2010 (student version)Since I have all the plans of my house I thought to draw my house as a 3D model.Since I have a weakness for perfection I would also like to show it as realistic as possible.So I put no real time limit on this project.It may sound strange but I would like to take the effort to draw even the seats,tables, carpets and attributes this in the house are returned.(I suppose it is easier if I'll leave the structure of the house out of it... So I could more focus on the "external" of the house ...)Now my question is,IS it possible to do ? and architects it like this all the time or ?...Would it even be possible to show the Bose system, the radiator, spotlights, etc to show as it really is?Now I have really no idea how I should also start with such things ...You will most likely not find the right chairs, tables, etc. in a .DWG that are in my particular house.Is there a way to insert this one in Revit?Drawing in AutoCAD and then insert? Google Sketchup? anything else ? ALL help, tips, tricks or whatever I can certainly use and is more than welcome!Already A thousand time thanks!Warm regards, LucasPrograms that I own:- AutoDesk Revit Architecture 2010 (Student version)- Autodesk AutoCAD 2009- Google SketchUp Pro 6.0- all Adobe programs(are there any programs that would facilitate this project?Maybe I could get them from my father then)


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 24, 2010 at 7:54:18 PM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#2

Veracious


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


I'm sorry about the layout, seems its not like i wrote it in the first place hehe, still searching an edit button :D

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 25, 2010 at 3:55:57 PM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


Look through the gallery to see what can be done.  You can search the forums for specific questions.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 26, 2010 at 12:27:10 AM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#4

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Yes, it's possible to do.  And if you have a lot of time, it'll be a good project to teach yourself some nuances of the program... but what I'm finding my own weakness to be is getting caught up the in the 3D glory of the project, when all the contractor needs to see in the end are some black lines on paper.

 

That is still revit's ultimate purpose--producing 2-D floorplans, sections, elevations, etc.  I just believe that building a model is SO much more intuative than making those same drawings in AutoCAD.  You should be thankful that you don't have much experience in AutoCAD.  It seems to be a big stumbling block; entering into Revit with habits and expectations.

 

I've been scolded by my boss for making too many shiny renders.  So, while your project is going to be a ton of fun, for the extra challenge, I'd suggest making views which are spartan and dimensioned such that your house could be rebuilt by a contractor.  The value is in learning how to make a set. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 26, 2010 at 10:53:09 AM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#5

Veracious


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


thank you all for the replies !

 

i'm now getting some tutorials to learn drawing 3D objects in the modeller of Revit ... as ppl told me on other sites... it might be easier for me now to make those objects in AutoCAD and import them as a family BUT then i lose "a little" about "giving-myself-an-exercise-learn-Revit" :D

 

so I'll keep u informed about the status !

 

 

thanks again, Lucas 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 7:19:36 PM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#6

Budtooz22


active
Budtooz22 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Apr 5, 2008
4 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I've done the same with my home as well.  You'll have your main project file and then you'll have family files (the template you use will vary depending upon the type of model you're trying to make ie: wall based, ceiling based, generic model, etc.)

 

If you can't download content from this site you'll have to make it yourself...and I've made a bit myself and then inserting it into my project.

 

Below are a few pictures of my house (the end unit of a townhome development).  I've had to add in separately profiles running vertically around the front of the house.  The kitchen cabinets were modified from the standard Revit cabinets to fit my home.  I had to model the range, microwave, and fridge myself as Revit families.  The same was done for the fireplace (a wall based family).

 

You'll have to create your components in separate family files and then load them into your project...which is the easiest way to do it rather than modeling objects in the project itself which is only good for a select few things.

 

Drawing this all in Revit taught me a ton about the program and making families.

Edited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:30:29 PMEdited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:31:53 PM

Edited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:32:22 PM

Attached Images

71744_Zurich.jpg71744_Living_Room.jpg71744_Kitchen.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 7:33:11 PM | Budtooz22

#7

Budtooz22


active
Budtooz22 Avatar

Joined: Sat, Apr 5, 2008
4 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Quoting Budtooz22 from 2010-01-29 13:19:36

"

I've done the same with my home as well.  You'll have your main project file and then you'll have family files (the template you use will vary depending upon the type of model you're trying to make ie: wall based, ceiling based, generic model, etc.)

 

If you can't download content from this site you'll have to make it yourself...and I've made a bit myself and then inserting it into my project.

 

Below are a few pictures of my house (the end unit of a townhome development).  I've had to add in separately profiles running vertically around the front of the house.  The kitchen cabinets were modified from the standard Revit cabinets to fit my home.  I had to model the range, microwave, and fridge myself as Revit families.  The same was done for the fireplace (a wall based family).

 

You'll have to create your components in separate family files and then load them into your project...which is the easiest way to do it rather than modeling objects in the project itself which is only good for a select few things.

 

Drawing this all in Revit taught me a ton about the program and making families.

Edited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:30:29 PMEdited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:31:53 PMEdited on: Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:32:22 PM"

 

Actual photo of my home.



Attached Images

71745_PICT6149.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 7:37:45 PM | Drawing my own house in Revit Architecture

#8

Veracious


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 24, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


thanks man, realy nice done ! jalous to be honest hehe

 think i first gone get some more tutorials cause i wanne do the basic in Revit itself and then get the furniture etc

from drawings that i did in AutoCAD

 

 

thanks again,

 

 

 

Lucas 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Architecture 2008 House tutorial

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Feb 14, 2008 at 9:39:37 PM

1

rookie mistake

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Feb 16, 2009 at 11:01:53 AM

1

Revit Tutorial For A House [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Sat, Sep 18, 2010 at 2:10:51 AM

16

Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jan 14, 2009 at 1:55:17 AM

8

MIRROR entire HOUSE

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:23:19 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

500187

Objects:

14996

Forum Posts:

127544

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0910

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights