RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

156 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Viewport Problem

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 5:26:16 PM | Viewport Problem

#1

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


I have two viewport questions:

First, my list of viewports shows one that I would like to delete. How can I do so? When I look at purge all unused, I do not see it listed, however, that particular view title type is nowhere in my template.

Question two is, how can I set a default view title to show up as I drag a viewport on to a sheet? Presently no view title is displayed automatically when I drag a view on to a sheet.

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 5:33:46 PM | Viewport Problem

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


Vieports?  That's a cad term.  Do you mean a view that has been placed on a sheet?  Just click on it and hit yor delete button.  That will remove it from the sheet but not your browser.  If you want to delete the view from your project, find it in your browser - right click and delete view.

 

When you place a view, look on your options bar and you will find a chice of view titles.  If you have a view on a sheet without a title, click on the view and again look at your options bar and select a view title.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 5:40:36 PM | Viewport Problem

#3

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Actually, the term is clearly in Revit in fact it is a system family. When you select the view to edit its properties, it shows as a system family called viewport.

I don't think you are understanding my questions though...

When I select a view and look at my "Change Element Options" selections, there is one that I don't use and want to get rid of it. How can I do that?

Secondly, when I place a view on a new sheet, presently no view title shows up. I have to select the view (viewport) and change the properties to have a view title placed. How can I set a default such that a view title comes along with the view?

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 6:45:28 PM | Viewport Problem

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


"When I select a view and look at my "Change Element Options" selections," ??  Are you talking about Instance properties of a view?  Perhaps a screen shot showing what you are talking about.

 

As I previously posted, when you place a view, choose the viewtitle to use then.  Revit will generally remember your last selections when placed - not when changed.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 7:00:36 PM | Viewport Problem

#5

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Actually it says, "Change Element Type" not Selection. My bad. (See image attached)

What I have in this image is the view title that I want, but by default no view title is placed even after I place a view, and chage the element type to my "Title w Line" view title. If I grab anothe view and place it on the sheet, no view title comes with it.

Additionally, there is one viewport element within my pulldown list under "Change Element Type" that I want to delete. Any clue how to do that?

Thanks



Attached Images

71175_Untitled-2.gif

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 6:15:29 PM | Viewport Problem

#6

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Question back to you WWWHub...please.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 6:37:33 PM | Viewport Problem

#7

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Hey WWHub

 

how are things going?

jgfry i know the answer to your questions but think you have been a bit harsh on WWHub so not sure if i'll give you the answer, Please be polite to users like WWhub who give up a lot of their time to help others. Anyone can make a mistake particularly when they may not be 100% sure on what you are talking about. Also i belive that the term Vieport is a 2010 term, it used to be just view, so if WWhub was using 2009 he would not of been getting the same term as you.

 

well sure i'll help you on the way, check your visibility graphics for your sheets.

some system famlies can never be deleted. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 7:31:01 PM | Viewport Problem

#8

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for the reply KingRevit (and WWWHub). It was never my intention to come off as harsh or rude; if that was what it appeard as in my posting, I apologize. I certainly do appreciate those who have more knowledge spending their valuable time for all of us to learn.

I would appreciate your help further; upon checking visibility graphics, I don't see anything that would answer or apply to my two questions. The view title I am trying to delete is not a system family either.

Back to the drawing board?

Thank you again.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 8:37:37 PM | Viewport Problem

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


To delete a user created view title, find the family in your browser under annotations and delete it.

 

To change the default view title.  This one was hard for me.... It has been so long since we did ours, I had forgotten.  If your problem was caused because you upgraded a file, I too had that problem.  My default became none.  SO ... to reset the default view title, place a title then whatever revit is using, edit it selectinge the view title you want and rename it if you need to.   ... This is one of those DUH's... And I did that too.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 6:36:18 PM | Viewport Problem

#10

jgfry


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 21, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Thank you WWWHub for the reply, but I am sorry to say that neither of these are working. The View Title is not listed in the Family tree, only in the viewport selection list shown in the image I sent.

I also tried what you suggested for the second item....still doesn't not work. When I drag a new view into a sheet, no view title comes with in even though I have defined a previous view within the sheet with the desired view title.

 I am at a loss.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 6:56:58 PM | Viewport Problem

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


jgfry ...Go into the Chatroom.  There are several people in there that can walk you through this easier than posting here.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 17, 2010 at 7:17:06 AM | Viewport Problem

#12

RobertLF


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 17, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


I am having the same problem as you.

There are some Viewport Family Types that cannot be removed.

If you still haven't received a reply to your second question, try this.

Select the Viewport and go it its Type Properties and confirm you have the following settings.

Title - M_View Title

Show Title - Yes

Show Extension Line - Yes

Regards

Robert.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 3:02:22 PM | Viewport Problem

#13

davidwhitehill


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 18, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


I had the same problem when importing from other projects. "Viewport 1" kept appearing out of nowhere. 

 Here's how to fix it:

 

Select any viewport.

Change it to the viewport type you want to erase. 

Type "SA" (Select All) You have now selected all instances of the bad viewport.

Change the type to a viewport you like.

 Purge Unused. The "bad" viewport will now show up. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 3:48:04 PM | Viewport Problem

#14

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


it purges because it is an unused family.  in the project browser if you just select annotation symbols under familiesv and scroll down to view titles and delete the one you do not want.  it will not be called viewport in the browser.  you need to to delete the family view title that you do not want to show in your viewport.  a viewport is not a family but the title line is and that what wwhub is trying to explain.

-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 1, 2010 at 6:17:48 PM | Viewport Problem

#15

sunz


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 30, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


edit: Erased the answer was right above me .. .sorry guys .. thanks for all the help.

Edited on: Mon, Nov 1, 2010 at 1:22:24 PM

Attached Images

84138_Duplicate-Viewports.jpg84138_Duplicate-Viewports2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Viewport larger then needed on sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 20, 2007 at 4:38:25 PM

6

Draw Order of Viewport on a sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 10:35:58 PM

2

viewport annotation box

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 17, 2013 at 10:30:05 PM

4

Viewport textbox resizing? :S

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 6:00:44 AM

3

downsizing a viewport

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 12:03:43 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

500031

Objects:

14996

Forum Posts:

127538

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3419

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights