RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

136 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Stair Visibility Issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 6:12:55 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#1

stewajm


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


I have a 4 story building with a basement. When I am on my 2nd floor, I see not only the 2nd floor stair going up, but see the down as I should. However, the down does not stop and I continue to see it as it goes under the stair going up and even when it passes below my floor plate.

 I have tried making these stairs as a multi-story stair or separate stairs per floor. The issue is there regardless of how they are constructed.

 It is almost as though the stair going up and the floor are transparent. But, they are not. i have no underlays on, and all items are solid, no transparency.

 I have this same issue on a countertop with a 1/2 wall below. The counter, although it is below the cut plane, shows transparent and I see the partial wall below. If I pull the wall down just below the countertop, it goes away (wall goes to 2'-10 1/2" and the countertop is 1 1/2" thick with the top set at 3'-0" a.f.f.).

 Is there some master visibility I am missing in Revit 2009? I do not remember having these issues with the old build.



Attached Images

58024_Stair_Issues.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 6:58:54 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


In the view VG - uder stairs - uncheck the boxes "stairs beyond cut", " stringers beyond cut" and under railings "railings beyond cut"

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 7:26:05 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#3

stewajm


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


I have tried that option as well. However, it only works on the "UP" stair. I still see the stair below including it's up arrow from the first floor.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 7:44:59 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


post your view properties showing your view range

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 7:51:47 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#5

stewajm


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


Attached is a jpg of the view properties.



Attached Images

58044_Stair_Issue_-_View_Properties.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:01:01 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


Did you try in that plan view going to the "Override Graphics in view>by Element and turn off the "Visible"??? if this is what you want....

 



Edited on: Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 4:03:36 PM

Attached Images

58058_stairs1.png58058_stairs2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:08:01 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


Typhon has probably given you a work around by just turning that stair off if it is a seperate stair but it should not be showing according to your view range..... BUT - Do I by chance see a plan region around the lading window ?  Is there something with that which is affecting us?  Why not delete that and see what happens.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:09:41 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#8

stewajm


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


That works, but then I don't see the down. I'd like to be able to see both the up and down as I should be able to.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:15:49 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


So, if you made like WWhub said in the first post "In the view VG - uder stairs - uncheck the boxes "stairs beyond cut", " stringers beyond cut" and under railings "railings beyond cut" - should be work, unless there are something  about worksets or phasing....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 9:37:00 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#10

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I know I'm late to the party, but I tried all above and none of it worked.  I found a "work around" this issue.I had a stair coming from the basement to the first floor.  I could see it while I was on the first floor level.  The work around is to apply a filter.  1.  Click on the stair then go to properties, Duplicate. Click ok2.  In the comment line under that stair property add a comment like basement or whatever blows your hair back.3.  Go to Visual settings / Filters / add filter.  Add a filter.4. Edit the filter to the right.  "Filter by Comment" then type basement (or whatever comment you added to the stair) Click ok5. Then on the filter screen uncheck "Visibility" and BOOM you are done. HTH.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 5:48:26 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#11

vrmoreno3


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 20, 2006
56 Posts
No Rating


And an even later reply, but what happened to those settings in 2013? I have the same issue. I could have sworn that stair would display in previous versions. At a floor, the stair up would display a portion then hidden, the stair down would display a portion down then hidden.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 5:20:34 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#12

shadowI


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 18, 2013
1 Posts
No Rating


I'm using Revit 2013 and ran into the probelm of stairs beyond cut line visible.

This might sound counter intuitive, but I have to uncheck all 5 boxes start with <Above> under Stairs of VG.

Then I got the clean cut at the "cut mark".


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 11:25:51 AM | Stair Visibility Issues

#13

vrmoreno3


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 20, 2006
56 Posts
No Rating


Maybe that is the problem. The previous version had a "Beyond" VG setting, which the newer no longer has. Why would the developers remove this?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 12:05:27 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


They seem to like to screw things up.... I think - a lot of AutoCAD programers came over to Revit.

 

In 13, one of our handrail types no longer cuts off correctly.  13 is such a mess!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 1:58:58 PM | Stair Visibility Issues

#15

vrmoreno3


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 20, 2006
56 Posts
No Rating


Wonder what 2014 does about it, we are holding off a bit.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Stair visibility issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 5, 2013 at 9:19:19 PM

2

Issues with underside of stair

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 15, 2011 at 8:27:07 PM

4

Stair will not host railing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 10, 2012 at 5:19:23 PM

1

Stair Visibilty Issues in Plan

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 30, 2008 at 3:44:50 PM

1

Stair Issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 4:20:07 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

555822

Objects:

15512

Forum Posts:

131636

Job Listings:

3

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.6045

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights