RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

266 Users Online (161 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 3:32:39 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#1

joeinck


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2008
60 Posts
No Rating


Howdy,

when i create a building section, the 'Earth' poche cuts out correctly around my building put does not cut out around elevator and maintainence pits, it just goes right through these areas? I have foundation walls and floor slabs defining these areas?

thanks

j


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 3:47:28 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


Add another pad to cut your pit.  Under the site tab.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 4:46:49 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#3

joeinck


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2008
60 Posts
No Rating


yes, i tried that and have attached a dwf of the results. it does not work correctly as you will see. this seems like such a simple issue, drafting 101. i have even tried making these areas into rooms but still no luck. i have made the bottom of the pit an actual level as well, but no luck. what if this was a partial basement...would i have the same problem?

thanks for your input, it got me a little closer, at least i dont have earth in my pits

j



This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 5:25:52 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


Sorry but pads do work correctly when done right. 

 

First, the pad should be defined to the outside of your pit walls - not the inside.  This should take care of the line at the top of the topo.  Remember - this is just like you build it.

Second- the line at the top of the wall / bottom of the slab would be there in real life - unless you plan on puring the wall with the slab.  But - if you want to get rid of the line, use your join geometry tool - that is assuming the pit opening in the floor actually matches your wall location.

Third, I assume you will be placing another pad for your other pit?

 

Finally - you don't need a level or rooms to make this work ... but if you want them....


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 7:57:08 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#5

joeinck


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2008
60 Posts
No Rating


The plot thickens....

it would appear that if i have multiple contour lines in my Architectural site plan, i need to merge those surfaces, which is not so good if you want to show the site grading. i did the other things you suggested and they worked great as long as i only have one topo surface?

j


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 8:33:54 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


I'm not sure I understand.  Why would you have more than one topo surface .... or do you mean you have a split surface?

 

Did you look at graded regions on your site tab?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 7:20:14 PM | Elevator / Maint. Pit - Revit Architecture 9

#7

joeinck


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2008
60 Posts
No Rating


I was confused, just getting used to the site contour stuff. I appreciate the solution and will keep working on developing my site plan and watch how it effects my building sections

j


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

working with Pads and toposurfaces

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 8, 2007 at 8:17:49 PM

1

need help on elevator...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 at 3:56:47 PM

2

CALCULATING THE RIFLE PIT ?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 28, 2008 at 9:00:31 PM

0

New Elevator Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 3:12:58 AM

7

ELEVATOR

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 1:16:45 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

499993

Objects:

14993

Forum Posts:

127536

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3258

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights