RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

211 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof design problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 6:52:28 PM | Roof design problems

#1

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Can any body tell me how can I get the roof to join? Any idea why the roof line of the the bay windows do not show? Any ideas how to do a cricket roof or at least show the area of the cricket roof in the floor plan view? See screen shots.

Any one has a good link or knows about a good tutorial creating roof or complex roof?

Thank you



Attached Images

54688_Rf_1.JPG54688_Rf_2.JPG54688_Rf_3.JPG54688_Rf_4.JPG54688_Rf_5.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 6:59:44 PM | Roof design problems

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


I don't know yet if you could do that like in "One piece" but use the "Join/Unjoin Roof" tool....

 

 ONE PIECE, more or less like you want..

 



Edited on: Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 2:13:01 PM

Attached Images

54690_roof.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 7:21:28 PM | Roof design problems

#3

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


When I try to join roof the a warning comes out and says that is missing the taget face, see screen shots. I played around with this changing the slope and no success, any suggestions?

Attached Images

54693_Rf_to_be_joined.JPG54693_Rf_missed_target_face.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 7:39:00 PM | Roof design problems

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


the two roofs are at the same height???

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 8:05:56 PM | Roof design problems

#5

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


I fixed the gap in the Rf 1 screen shot above by playing around with the slope, see screen shot. However, how do I create a cricket in the roof valleys and how do I show the roof lines of the bay windows as your example, can't find the way to accomplish that.

Attached Images

54707_Cricket_Roof_copy.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 8:09:43 PM | Roof design problems

#6

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


is the same top plate 10' high is that what you mean? I am sending a screen shot of the floor plan, can you draw a roof with this plan layout? all the walls are 10' in hight.

Thank you 



Attached Images

54708_Flr_Plan.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 8:18:26 PM | Roof design problems

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


Did you use the "Join/Unjoin roof" tool??? like you can see, I do this with no measures, only with your sketch and in one piece, why don't you try, I have only one problem to solve like you can see in the image attached....

 



Attached Images

54713_roof2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 9:09:47 PM | Roof design problems

#8

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Typhoon,

when you say you created the roof "in one piece" do you mean creating the roof as a single entity. not using the roof join/unjoing tool? The reason why I created the roof as separate entities was because I tried to it in a single sketch but when I clicked finish roof sketch a warning showed up telling something that the roof cannot be done..... But I am going to try it again, again, and again until I get it right. 

Thank you for all your input. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 10:26:11 PM | Roof design problems

#9

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Typhoon,

Finally after several tries I was able to create the roof as a whole entity, I kept on getting a warning after clicking finish roof in the sketch mode "the roof print cannot be done". Anyways I did it there is only one area that doesn't look right, see screen shot. I think I am going to break the roof in that area and create separate entities then will try to join them.

One question, how do you set up the roof slope to be 6/12 in the sketch mode. I am using the generic: 9" roof that is provided in RA2009 so when I pick walls the default slope is 9/12 after finishing sketching the roof I change the slope of each line segment to 6/12. Is there a faster way to do this?



Attached Images

54725_Roof_as_1_entity.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 10:43:56 AM | Roof design problems

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


"so when I pick walls the default slope is 9/12 after finishing sketching the roof I change the slope of each line segment to 6/12. Is there a faster way to do this?" - Yeah, when you are in the Sketch mode in the roof creation, go to the left menu in "Roof Properties" and change the "Slope" parameter, this change every slope to EVERY lines.... you don't need to change one by one....

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 4:36:32 PM | Roof design problems

#11

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Thank you Typhoon.

I will explain my mistake so other revit users that are reading this thread can learn from it.

In the roof sketch mode I had one or two line segments with different slope and when I looked into the roof properties the parameter to change the slope didn't show. So in orther to change the slope in a single click all the line segmentes in the sketch mode must have equal slope and then go in the roof properties and the change slope parameter will appear.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 10:53:01 AM | Roof design problems

#12

Bracciali


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


I have found that you cannot use the Join Roofs tool if any part of the roof to be joined is overlapping the main roof. It can be quite frustrating. I had to create a similar cricket for a project and I ended up just figuring out on my own where the edges of the cricket would be (what angles the edges would run in plan) and then I drew a 4-sided diamond shape to represent the cricket in plan and used slope arrows to define the slope. That kept me from having to have tiny little slope-defining lines on each side.

_______________

roofing contractors

Edited on: Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 5:56:45 AM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 12:30:00 PM | Roof design problems

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 226 Votes


Braccali wrote:  "I have found that you cannot use the Join Roofs tool if any part of the roof to be joined is overlapping the main roof...."   This is not true.  If the roof intersect, they will join.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Roof problems!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 2, 2004 at 1:26:42 AM

5

Wood Roof Bracing Problems

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 14, 2011 at 7:20:52 PM

1

Abstract roof

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, May 1, 2012 at 1:26:50 AM

7

Design options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 26, 2009 at 9:26:40 PM

6

Roof Problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 8:07:33 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

560238

Objects:

15522

Forum Posts:

131881

Job Listings:

4

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6223

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights