RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

167 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 497 - Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 4:58:46 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> How to create a dome

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 11:29:59 PM | How to create a dome

#1

sigma


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 15, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


Hi all, my name is Sigma and I have been using Revit since 2007. . Currently I am trying to create a dome and became frustrated. Any suggestions from the forum will be appreciated.

Do you folks use create mass or place mass? Or you use the library and rename and change the object? May be I am wrong please feel free to make comments.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 12:27:05 AM | How to create a dome

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 24 Votes


The easiest way is to create a mass the correct size, then use the "wall by face" function

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 4:26:44 AM | How to create a dome

#3

sigma


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 15, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


Hi alabaster. I need more explanation. If you could give me the steps then I can follow. Thanks again.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 6:02:25 PM | How to create a dome

#4

JRMello


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 12, 2008
98 Posts
No Rating


Use the Create Mass tool, and most likely, create a solid revolve in the size and shape you need. Once you have finished that solid, and the family you can then use the Wall by Face tool to apply walls to the surface of your mass.

HTH


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 7:23:06 PM | How to create a dome

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 228 Votes


If you want these to be "walls" then the previous post is correct....

You can also do an in-place family ... set to be whatever category you want - probably not walls.  Do that as a revolve and the profile thickness appropriate for your structure.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 6, 2009 at 8:20:56 PM | How to create a dome

#6

sigma


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 15, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


It's working and thanks to both of you.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dome roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 17, 2011 at 1:52:22 PM

14

Create a dome

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 24, 2012 at 5:50:06 PM

1

a dome of glass ??? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 26, 2008 at 7:48:50 PM

17

Dome Roof for a Church Project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 19, 2009 at 8:44:53 PM

4

Dome with Curtain wall-Help on flat surfaces

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:45:20 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

571618

Objects:

15578

Forum Posts:

132441

Job Listings:

4

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1217

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights