RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> wall area

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 9:27:45 AM | wall area

#1

JonasN


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 22, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


I have a contractor who disagree with the wall area in schedules. How do Revit calculate the area? Is it in the middle of the wall, inside or outside? If the wall is thick the difference can be quite large. Does it exclude windows and other objects in the wall or not?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 10:34:21 AM | wall area

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


The wall area it's calculate by the FACE of the wall, if you have a wall with 10 meters long x 5 meters height=50 meters², so, it's not matter if is in middle, inside or outside, and YES in shedules revit exclude windows, doors and openings... WE ARE TALKING ABOUT AREA NOT VOLUME...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 11:38:46 AM | wall area

#3

JonasN


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 22, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Ok, but if there are corners. If I have a ordinary house with 4 thick walls then the inner and outer area can differ a lot.

For example: A house that is 10x10 m with walls that are 2,5 m high and 0,5 m thick. The difference between the inner area and the outer is 10 m2 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 12:15:28 PM | wall area

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 215 Votes


Why don't you do a simple test and post it here.  Just a box with a door and window all of know sizes?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 12:57:34 PM | wall area

#5

JonasN


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 22, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


said and done. the walls in the example above is 95 m2. Revit seems to calculate the area from the middle of the walls regardless of the wall thickness.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 2:19:52 PM | wall area

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


"the walls in the example above is 95 m2. Revit seems to calculate the area from the middle of the walls regardless of the wall thickness." - you don't put the example but i know what you mean, if you have a house with 10x10x2.5m height (and 0.50m tick.)= 100m² but in this case the value he post is 95m², this area are by the middle of the wall, YOU HAVE A POINT. I create a shedule with this and the values he report are: 4 walls with the lenght 9.50m and 0.50m width, and each area 1-4 is 25.00, 23.75, 23.75 and 22.50m² = 95.00m², so Revit is calculate by the middle of the wall...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 2:33:07 PM | wall area

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


It's like "he" calculate the Media of the areas (Exterior and interior) by exterior 10x10x2.5m= 100.00m², by interior 9x9x2.5m= 90.00m² so 100+90=190.00m² / 2 = 95.00m² because he calculates by the middle of the walls....

 

 



Edited on: Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 9:43:25 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 7:06:16 PM | wall area

#8

JonasN


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 22, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


thanks

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 7:23:11 PM | wall area

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 156 Votes


You Welcome....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 6:28:29 PM | wall area

#10

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


THere is no answer to the question....plus the english stinks.

 

HOW DO YOU GET THE CALCULATION TO BE AT THE EXTERIOR OF THE WALLS??? a 10'x10' house is 100s.f. not 95 or something!!!

there is no option for this under area schemes.

 

Michael


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Scheduling wall area per room in appartment

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 25, 2009 at 1:01:10 PM

4

Wall Area Schedule

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Sep 19, 2011 at 8:44:22 PM

3

How to add wall area in schedule per wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 19, 2009 at 7:10:27 PM

2

WALL AREA AND SCHEDULE

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 7:44:28 PM

2

Area Plans, Area Rules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 4, 2010 at 6:15:08 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

528627

Objects:

15288

Forum Posts:

129710

Job Listings:

4

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4368

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights