RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (120 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 1:29:25 PM | Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

#1

JFK64


active

Joined: Tue, May 8, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


Guys Hopefully simple question here:ACAD has a standard of lineweights that get plotted out to scale and the scale lineweight box being checked to make it look correct at each plotted out scaled drawing, Revit has lineweights as per designated scale. Now the question is: Is ACAD pen weight #1 at .125" plotted out at 1/4" scale (and scaled pen weight plotted out at 1 1/2" scale, I know the weights are different then) the same as the Revit weight #1 at .125" in 1/4" scale and the .325" in 1 1/2" scale? Simply put "Is Revit changing my lineweights (plotted out) between the 1/4" scale and the 1 1/2" scale??"

John KinneyEllenzweig


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 7:10:08 PM | Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 9 Votes


First Rule in using Revit, Never Compare it with Autocad. Have such problems like yours before when exporting Revit drawings to Autocad. Once a Revit view/sheet is exported to Autocad, you can do two things when it comes to plotting your dwg. First, try to plot your using your ctb with your designated color/lineweights with "Plot with Line Style" button checked. If that works, then good. If not, unchecked "Plot with Line Style" button and automatically the "plot Object Linetype" is checked. No need to care which ctb file you use, as you can see from the preview (zoom if you may), objects have their own lineweight, just as they were in Revit.

Hope this help. 


-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 2:25:25 PM | Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

#3

JFK64


active

Joined: Tue, May 8, 2007
45 Posts
No Rating


Sorry those in charge want the exact same quality that we have in ACAD now from Revit, so Yes I do have to compare Revit to ACAD.

We actually never wanted to export Revit to ACAD, we wanted a stand alone Revit drawing with the same quality that we have currently in ACAD.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 5:00:48 PM | Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

#4

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 9 Votes


Though Revit seems to automate elvations, Sections, Detailing, scheduling and the likes, you need some "linework" (the command itself) to do some manuevering to suit your preferences.  Parametric help much in coordination rather than drawing/drafting presentation. Yes, you can mimic the so familiar Autocad plans with Revit and so much more.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 10:14:58 PM | Revit Lineweight vs ACAD Lineweight

#5

AgathaChristy


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 7, 2006
14 Posts
No Rating


Another 2 things you can do:

1. Explain your Bosses that is DIFFERENT software with DIFFERENT mentality. Either CAD or Revit. It can't be compared.

2. When you Export to cad you haveOoptions button there. Click on that and go Layer settings. Revise that. Unfortunately it would take you a while. In order not to do it in the future you should modify Template file you are using for your future projects. Open Teplate File and go File - Export/Import Settings.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Coordinating Lineweight of Revit to Cad

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 5:17:24 PM

2

Lineweight on Surface Patterns?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 4:54:52 PM

0

Lineweight in perspecives

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 5:27:42 AM

6

Electrical Fixtures Lineweight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 9:11:41 PM

4

Edit lineweight of insulation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 30, 2007 at 11:15:01 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

555240

Objects:

15510

Forum Posts:

131600

Job Listings:

3

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0297

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights