RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

108 Users Online (55 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 at 2:52:11 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#1

rmehta


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
7 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to change the size of a viewport on a sheet in Revit arch 2008. 

I *do not* want to change the crop region in the model. 

I can resize the viewport explictly with the size button - but is there a way to drag a viewport's handles, like one can drag a crop region handles?

 

Thanks

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 at 4:10:01 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


Not sure I understand the question .... Basically, the crop region is the "viewport" except for annotations which have their own crop region.  If you want to further reduce the "window", you could use masking within the "viewport".  (I don't like using the term viewport because that is AutoCAD and not what this is.  These are cropped model views. )

 

You need to be more explicit in what you are trying to do.   I assume you are you wanting to have the view be larger or smaller than a callout since that is the only view who's limits can be seen.  Is that what you are trying to do?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 at 4:25:42 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#3

rmehta


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
7 Posts
No Rating


 Here is what I'm trying to do.

 I have my plans.  That have lots of context and are quite large. I made a new sheet and placed a plan on it.  At 1/8", my plot scale, the plans with context run over my title block.  I want to crop the view so that JUST my building is showing.  I realize I can do this by opening the plan model and using the crop region, but I *don't want to change the model.* 

 

I want to resize the viewport (revit calls them viewports btw...) so that the context does not show up.  It would be equivalent to placing a plan on an autocad viewport then resizing the viewport to fit the sheet.  ie the 'xref' doesn't change, the 'viewport' is resized to crop what its showing.   Does that make sense?

 

When on the sheet, I can turning on the crop region for the viewport (not the model) and I get a button that lets me explicitly, with numerical input, resize the viewport.  I can't get revit to give me handles for the viewport when in a sheet view.

 

Does that make sense?  Any help appreciated!

 

    


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 at 5:33:37 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 225 Votes


Sorry .... still doesn't make sense. 

 

First, when you change the crop region (or annotation crop region), you are not changing the model.

 

Second, if you want to  "resize the viewport (revit calls them viewports btw...) so that the context does not show up" I think you mean you want to keep the scale at 1/8" but you want the annotations to be cropped.  You really don't want to re-size the viewport.

CROP THE ANNOTATIONS!

In the window goto VP, turn on annotation crop and pull the grips in to your model limits. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 30, 2008 at 7:29:18 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#5

lvkid76


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 20, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Hmmm I am trying to do the same thing. and yes it makes sense. I cant figure it out. Wish they would give you grips there or the little revit arrows to pull it over. should be an easy thing to do. Not sure why its complicated. If I figure it out I will post it.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 30, 2008 at 7:39:07 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#6

rmehta


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
7 Posts
No Rating


I thought it made sense...

I played with this for a while and spoken to a revit instructor, and what it comes down to is that there is no revit equivalent to the AutoCAD viewport which can crop and adjust scale.  You must make a new plan for every scale, every crop, etc.  People (see above) tend to get grumpy when you bring up autocad features to cross examining revit, but it is not really clear what's gained by not allowing cropping and scale changes on the sheet level.  

Regardless the workaround is not very difficult: duplicate plan or whatever drawing you need to crop/scale and place the new one on a sheet.  On the other, it is annoying and can start to clutter the project browser.  


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 2, 2008 at 2:57:33 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#7

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I am pretty sure I understand what you are trying to do.  Were I in the same position, I would duplicate the view AS DEPENDENT.  By doing this, it is an exact duplicate of the plan view, including all detail lines and components.   However, you cna change the crop region independently.  So I would have the first floor plan be the "working" drawing (like working in Modelspace), but the dependent view would be the viewport, with the narrower crop region.  As you will only use this for your plot sheet, you can minimize the dependent view to reduce clutter in the project browser, as a dependent view is one branch below the main view.  HTH



Attached Images

38109_Capture.JPG

-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 2, 2008 at 5:29:58 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#8

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


@rmehta 

 

I think that if you think about the revit model as seperate from the views that revit has.  just imagine the views as just showing a small part of the model.  The reason you have to make new views for every scale and crop area is that you are changing the view.  

 

Think about how you did this in autocad (lol sorry wwhub)  When you made a viewport you had to crop it right?  well when you wanted to show this same drawing again somewhere else you made another viewport right? well you might have 10 viewports showing different parts of the 1st floor.  just imagine these individual viewports as the cropped views in revit.  so you've always been doing this work you just are doing it differently in revit.  

 

The reasons you bring up about cluttering the project browser and not allowing changes at the sheet level are more or less on purpose.  Changing the scale of a drawing on a sheet is probably bad planning ("hey jim the plan doesn't fit on the sheet at 1/8" scale", "well make it smaller then"Winking also put a bunch of text in a detail @ 1-1/2"scale and then change it to 3/4" scale. never works out well.  you'll understand this more as you use it more.  good luck on your revit adventures.


-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 2, 2008 at 5:30:38 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#9

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


aarrrgggghhhh i smily'd myself again

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 12:57:49 AM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#10

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 9 Votes


It would help sometimes to customize your browser and filter how you would want to see things. Discover!

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 10, 2008 at 7:53:25 AM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#11

tikk


active

Joined: Wed, May 21, 2008
12 Posts
No Rating


Aside from scale, the annoying factor in this problem is that Revit won't let the crop region on a sheet be any shape, only a rectangular shape is available. Why this is done so is beyond reason, in Archicad you can shape the crop region as you want to. I sincerely hope they will change this in Revit 2010, since it woulnd'nt be much of a programming challenge and would reduce clutter and extra work a lot.

Or does anyone know how to make a non-rectangular crop region?

(masking regions etc. are extra work and they won't let you edit the cropped area on the sheet, thereby it's a tedious game of changing the masking region a bit, checking the sheet, changing the region, checking the sheet etc.)



Edited on: Tue, Jun 10, 2008 at 2:57:34 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 10, 2008 at 2:46:54 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#12

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


you can activate a viewport and edit anything on the sheet.


-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 21, 2013 at 9:39:23 PM | Can one crop Viewports GRAPHICALLY (with handles, rather than explicitly) R08

#13

BOAdesign


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2013
1 Posts
No Rating


I am having the same problem.  But I found this link...

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/Community/Tips_and_Tricks/Views,_Visibility,_Graphics/Adjust_the_Crop_Size_of_a_View


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

canĀ“t see the door handles!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 30, 2009 at 12:12:51 PM

12

Viewport extents reaching far beyond crop region

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 8, 2008 at 10:38:05 AM

2

Edit Visibility Graphics in multiple viewports?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 28, 2011 at 7:37:05 PM

1

Lost Blue Handles

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 6:05:54 PM

11

viewports

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 8, 2004 at 1:07:14 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

556854

Objects:

15515

Forum Posts:

131683

Job Listings:

3

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0466

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights